Bliss

Things are looking up! After eight long weeks, as of Friday I finally have central air conditioning.

(Naturally an hour after my installation folks left, I heard the routine drip drip drip that has so haunted me these past months, and found that my AC unit was truly leaking water. Again. I popped a bowl underneath, turned off my AC unit, called my installation company, and someone came the next day first thing to jerry-rig a solution. I still woke up in the middle of the night out of paranoia. Thus far the solution seems to have worked, but I’m supposed to “keep an eye on it,” so the bowl is staying for the foreseeable future. At least, until I stop losing sleep.)

No longer sunk in a deep malaise due to dense heat, I was finally able to throw myself into a deep-clean of my apartment yesterday. Dust, grime, dead plants, scary items molding in the fridge, all gone! I feel a new internal calm to match.

Air conditioning also meant that I was able to turn on my oven for the first time in ages, and I used it for the best possible purpose: dessert. Specifically, cream puffs filled with vanilla pastry cream and fresh plums. They went marvelously with the champagne that I’d been hording to celebrate this very moment, and my special guest was most appreciative.

IMG_3560

My bedroom also looks marvelous these days because of the beautiful new quilt made by my grandmother that arrived this week. (Thank you, Grammie!) I love it, and it goes wonderfully in my home. This photo doesn’t do it justice.

IMG_3555

Let’s see what else…Things are picking up at work at last, I just bought some amazingly cheap tickets to visit friends in Europe over Thanksgiving, and the Republicans are tripping over themselves in their efforts to dismantle the ACA. Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

