Welcome Pancakes

Nothing says “vacation” or “weekend” like pancakes. I knew I should have gone for a run this morning, but instead, I decided to make my killer pancake recipe for Abby. She had a long day yesterday- Train from Lille to Paris, flight from Paris to Venice, a 50 minute-late bus from Venice to Ljubljana. Her train left Lille at 6:15 am. Abby arrived in Ljubljana a little after 9:00 pm. The woman deserved pancakes this morning.

The first thing I did was take Abby to eat a sirov (cheese) burek. Nothing says Balkans like burek! Not that Slovenia is part of the Balkans, no no no. I would never imply such a thing. But fact of the matter is, you can’t get burek in Austria, Italy, Germany, and so on. It’s a regional specialty of the, um, Balkans, and will cure any hunger pangs you may have. After you’ve eaten a burek, you know you’ve eaten. Plus, its delicious.

After dropping off Abby’s things at my place, we wandered out my front door to join the throngs drinking hot mulled wine and to enjoy the lights. Photos to come. We left our cameras at home, since it it was raining, and it will be just as beautiful tonight without the rain.

This morning we slept in, and I made my killer pancakes for breakfast. Thankfully my parents sent me American baking powder and baking soda in my Christmas package. You can buy some baking powder and soda like substances here, but I don’t trust them. They’re not exactly the same, its hard to put my finger on why…Anyway, these were the first pancakes I’ve eaten in three months. And they were amazing. You should try them. Wait, you can!

This is the best buttermilk pancake recipe ever. No kidding. You may think you have the best, but that’s only because you haven’t had the chance to eat these yet:

Bette’s Diner Buttermilk Pancakes
About 24 4-inch pancakes; serves 4

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup butter melted

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, lightly beat the eggs, buttermilk, milk and butter. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients all at once, stirring just to blend. The batter should be slightly lumpy and quite thick. Let the batter rest for 5 to 10 minutes.

Heat a lightly oiled griddle or heavy skillet over medium-high heat (375F on an electric griddle). Portion 1/4 cup measures of batter onto the hot griddle, spacing them apart. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes, until bubbles cover the surface of the pancakes, and their undersides are lightly browned. Gently turn the over and cook for about two minutes more, until the other sides are browned.

We ate our pancakes with some the Speculoos cream spread that Abby brought us from France. It-get this-is BETTER THAN NUTELLA. Its amazing! Fantastic! I will bring home a million containers with me when I go back to the States, and make you all into Speculoos cream converts.

If you lack Speculoos cream, you can also serve your American pancakes with maple syrup. Also, if you don’t have buttermilk, you can do as I do frequently, and make your pancakes with plain yogurt. Shhh- nobody will know.

One thought on “Welcome Pancakes

Leave a Reply

