on “Mexican” food and “Tests”

Today has been a bit of a full-moon day for me. The stars were not aligned in my favor, or what have you.

I think that it all started because I couldn’t sleep last night. My imagination ran away with me, as of I had spent the last few hours in the evening either studying Slovenian or studying geography for the Foreign Service Officer Test, FSOT. (Smallest country in Africa? Gambia, which is almost completely surrounded by Senegal. Capital of Qatar? Doha. Do the Ural Mountains exist outside of Risk, the board game? Yes.) I felt flush with my geography knowledge, and confident that I would be a shoo-in. For some reason I mentally skipped over the fact that only 4% of the people who take the FSOT actually become Foreign Service Officers. Last night, all I could do was imagine myself having flown past the written and essay portions, and see myself sitting in DC wowing my interviewers with my devotion and wit. Next, it went on to where I would do my first tour. Then it mushed together with Slovenian vocabulary, and all the sudden I was saying to my self, “zivim v Estonia” (“I live in Estonia”) at some weird hour in the night. A real mess. I think a significant lowering of expectations is in order.

Anyway, I woke up early this morning, worked, worked worked, emailed a prof to ask about a test, worked some more, opened up my email again….To discover that I managed to miss a midterm. I had talked with with the professor early on in the semester, and we had agreed that since the class is all in Slovenian, for the first part of the course I would just do the readings and take the exam. The second half of the class would be a research paper. I emailed the professor this morning, to confirm that as we had discussed, the exam would be next Monday, and to ask what time should I come.

Response:

The exam was yesterday (Nov 21st  – your colleagues suggested this change because of another assignment in the week from Nov. 28th  to Dec 2nd . The information was on my page (http://mhf.fdvinfo.net). Ther will be one more possibility in January – the exact date is not fixed yet.

 

Regards,

Fantastic. I would have known about the change of test date from a website which I did not know to check, which is moreover is in a language which I do not speak.

What a great way to start the day.

Next up:

I went to a very popular “Mexican” food restaurant with some friends from Romania. They suggested it. To be fair, I agreed. A little masochistic part of me wanted to see the train wreck that it Mexican food outside of the Northwestern hemisphere, ok? I had Pollo Asado. Which apparently translates into small slices of poached chicken breast floating around in a creamy peanut sauce over lettuce. Rice was served on the side, which I took as the central homage to Mexico (or Asia). On of the girls I was with had fried, breaded chicken pieces with what I’m sure was Americanish jarred bbq sauce. The other had a Chimichunga. Which is not actually Mexican food to start with, I know. This rendition was not so much the classic deep-fried burrito, as it was an enchilada looking thing, not deep fried. It was stuffed with chicken pieces like mine and a few corn kernels, floating around in a cheesy (?) creamy sauce.

They loved it all. General consensus was that I had ordered the best dish. This, they postulated, was probably because I would know what is best given my familiarity with Mexican food. I just nodded and smiled.

I have SO MUCH homework. Time to get back to it, and then hopefully I’ll still have time to study Slovenian and review African geography. After that I really need a full night of sleep, because right now I’m all grumps. I kind of need my eight hours, otherwise I kind of hate the world. Gr.

One thought on “on “Mexican” food and “Tests”

Leave a Reply

